ERMGC September Newsletter

Encinitas Ranch Men's Golf Club Newsletter

Don't forget to view and "like" our Facebook page.
ERMGC Facebook Page

Club Membership

Membership Renewals will begin October 1. More information will be coming about this.

Tournament News

Tournament: 2015 Club Championship,September 12-13, 19-20 .

Registration ends Tuesday 9/8.

To register for this tournament go to: Registration
Sponsored by

We invite you and your family to experience the benefits of Country Club membership. It's like having a resort in your back yard! Whether you play golf, tennis, workout or just relax by the pool, Lomas Santa Fe offers something for every family member.

Contact Denene Davidovich at 858-755-6768 to arrange a tour of the club. Ask about the 6 month trial golf membership.

FORMAT: The qualifying round is 18 holes of stroke play. The top eight finishers in each flight will qualify for match play. Ties will be decided by a card off. If there are 8 or less competitors signed up in any particular flight, we will seed you based on your current index. Lowest index will receive the #1 seed and so on.

ELIGIBILITY: To qualify for the Club Championship, you must earn (2) points to qualify to play.
Here's how to earn your points:
(1) Point awarded for playing in Thursday, Saturday or Senior League Team Play
(1) Point awarded for any Monthly Tournament
(1) Point awarded for (4) Wednesday Sweeps Rounds

2014 Defending Champions

  • Championship Flight: Tim Dudek
  • A Flight: Ken Wolff
  • B Flight: Richard Webster
  • C Flight: William Gladstone

Tournament Results

Tournament: 2015 Combo

Sponsored by:

The Men's Club would like to thank Chip Conover for sponsoring the 2015 Combo Tournament.


A Flight

  1. 1st Place - Baumann, G. / Gothard, J
  2. 2nd Place -Chandler, R. / Diaz, E.
  3. 3rd Place - Aiken, D. / Brakas, J.

B Flight

  1. 1st Place - Bloom, J. / Silverstein, D.
  2. 2nd Place - Fadell, T. / Weir, J.
  3. 3rd Place - Cuccaro, C. / Hostetter, T.

C Flight

  1. 1st Place - Hama, M. / Murphy, K.
  2. 2nd Place - Jones, H. / Brookins, E.
  3. 3rd Place - Georgeson, J. / House, H.


Membership renewals and for new members will be starting up October 1.

The Rules Column

Golf’s “Eraser Rule”

It would be nice to get a mulligan when we make a mistake on the golf course, but the rules don’t generally provide for second chances. Except, that is, when we incorrectly substitute, drop, or place a ball. See below:

A ball incorrectly substituted, dropped, or placed in a wrong place or otherwise not in accordance with the rules but not played may be lifted, without penalty, and the player must then proceed correctly.

The rule is only a single sentence, but 20-6 allows us to “erase” a mistake in certain situations— but we must understand the language, intent, and limitations of the rule. The word ‘substituted’ in the rule above is italicized above because there is a specific definition of Substituted Ball in the rulebook. To understand the rule, you must understand what a substituted ball is. See below:

SUBSTITUTED BALL – A “substituted ball” is a ball put into play for the original ball that was either in play, lost, out of bounds, or lifted.

This rule can come into play in relief situations such as: water hazards, obstructions, unplayable lie, and abnormal ground. It also could apply when putting a ball in play under penalty of stroke and distance, when replacing a ball that was at rest and moved by another ball, and even when replacing a marked ball on the putting green.

In most circumstances, a ball that is substituted, dropped, or placed when proceeding under an applicable rule is immediately “in play” and may not be touched. However, if we have INCORRECTLY substituted a ball or dropped or placed a ball in a wrong place, we can lift the ball and correct the error without penalty—as long as we do so before making a stroke at the ball.

The key to applying the rule is to know what is meant by INCORRECTLY in the language of golf. It means that you have not proceeded in accordance with the applicable rule. Examples follow which help illustrate when 20-6 can be applied and when it cannot.

  • • A tee ball came to rest on a paved cart path. The player elected to take relief from the path under Rule 24 – Obstructions. He determined the nearest point of relief, took a new ball from his bag, and dropped the ball within the prescribed area. Before he played a stroke at the dropped ball, his fellow-competitor reminded the player that Rule 24 does not permit substitution unless a ball is not immediately recoverable or is lost in the obstruction. Invoking Rule 20-6, the player lifted the substituted ball, correctly dropped the original ball, and played on without penalty.
  • • A tee ball came to rest left of the fairway in an area of thick shrubbery. The player identified the ball as his, but he had no shot and elected to take relief under Rule 28 – Ball Unplayable. He measured two club-lengths to the right of the ball, took a new ball from his bag, and dropped within the prescribed area. The ball rolled out of the prescribed area (but less than two club-lengths from where it first touched the course when dropped), and came to rest against a tree root. The player was desperate to invoke 20-6 and take a new drop. Was he allowed to do so? No, there was nothing ‘incorrect’ about his actions. He took relief under the applicable rule, substitution is allowed under Rule 28, and a dropped ball does not have to remain within the prescribed dropping area—as long as it does not roll more than two club-lengths from where it touched when dropped and does not roll closer to the hole than the location of the original ball. The “eraser rule” could not be applied, the ball was in play, and the player was stuck with the unfortunate result.
  • • A tee ball came to rest in an area marked as Ground Under Repair. The player elected to take relief without penalty under Rule 25 – Abnormal Ground Conditions. He determined his nearest point of relief, measured two club-lengths from that point no nearer the hole and dropped the ball just inside the furthest point of his measurement. The ball bounced and came to rest at a point about two feet from the nearest point of relief. The player then played a stroke at the dropped ball which he nearly holed. He tapped in and claimed three for the hole. Is this correct? No, relief under Rule 25 required that the ball be dropped no more than ONE club-length from the nearest point of relief. He had dropped nearly TWO club-lengths from the nearest point of relief. Even though the ball CAME TO REST within one club-length of the nearest point, he had dropped outside of the prescribed area. He could have corrected the mistake without penalty before he played the stroke, but he did not. When he played the dropped ball, he played from a wrong place and incurred a two-stroke penalty. His score for the hole was five. He was not required to return to the spot and replay from there because he had not committed a ‘serious breach’—that is, he had not gained a significant advantage by playing the improperly dropped ball.
  • • A tee ball went low and left toward a lateral water hazard. All members of the group saw the ball splash into the water. The player went forward and asked the group to confirm the point at which the ball crossed the margin of the hazard. The player elected to take relief from the hazard under Rule 26 – Water Hazards (Including Lateral Water Hazards). He measured two club-lengths from that point no nearer the hole, and dropped a ball within the prescribed area. As he was selecting a club to make a stroke at the dropped ball, another player in the group reported that he saw a ball beyond the hazard which could be the player’s original ball played from the tee. Sure enough, the player was able to identify the ball as his original. It had skipped across the water and rolled up onto the grass beyond the hazard. The player picked up the ball he had dropped, completed play of the hole with the original ball, and played from the next tee. Did the “eraser rule” apply in this situation? Had the player proceeded under the rules? No, and no. Based on the collective KNOWLEDGE OR VIRTUAL CERTAINTY of the group that the original ball was in the hazard, the player was proceeding under the applicable rule when taking relief. When the ball was dropped correctly for relief under Rule 26, that ball was the BALL IN PLAY. When the player made stroke at his original ball, he played a WRONG BALL. See the definition below.

    WRONG BALL – A “wrong ball” is any ball other than the player’s ball in play; provisional ball, or a second ball played under Rule 3-3 or Rule 20-7c in stroke play; and INCLUDES another player’s ball; an abandoned ball; and the player’s original ball when it is no longer in play.

    When the player made a stroke at a wrong ball, he was required to correct the error before playing from the next tee. When he played from the next tee without correcting the error, he was disqualified. The rules-savvy player would have recognized that the “eraser rule” did not apply to the dropped ball because that ball was correctly dropped under an applicable rule. He would have said, “You might as well pick up my original because the ball I just dropped is now my ball in play.” Another scenario might go like this… The player holes out with the original, but realizes on his way to the next tee that he played a wrong ball and wants to correct the error. He must go back to where the dropped ball was lifted and replace it. The player now lays five: tee shot, one penalty stroke for relief from hazard, one penalty stroke for lifting his ball in play, and two penalty strokes for playing a wrong ball. (The strokes he played with the wrong ball do not count in his score for the hole.) It won’t be pretty, but he is not disqualified.

    Rule 20-6 allows you to correct some mistakes without penalty, but it is not a ‘get out of jail free’ card that can be pulled out of your back pocket whenever you want a do-over. Re-read the rule and review the examples until you have a solid understanding. The “eraser rule” can be your friend.

    Dick Beckman – September 2015

    Wednesday Sweeps

    Wednesday Play for ERMGC Members

    If you want friendly golf competition and have a chance to earn gift certificates to purchase items from the Golf Shop, sign up for a tee time between 7:00 a.m. and 9:30 a.m. on Wednesdays. You may sign up as a single, with a friend, or a group of four. All sign-ups must be members of the Men’s Club. All participants pay an entry fee of $5. Each participant signs up for his appropriate flight and tee.

    Every golfer can win a gift certificate redeemable at the pro shop for placing in their flight.
    In addition, every player has an opportunity to win a $10 gift certificate for being closest to the hole, or having the long drive in their flight.

    The following are flight parameters for tee assignments:

    Flight Tees Index Score
    Championship Blue N/A Gross
    A Net Blue 10.0 and lower Net
    B Net Green 10.1 to 15.0 Net
    C Net White 15.1 and higher Net

    Visit our website for additional information on ERMGC Wednesday Play.

    Hope to see you on Wednesdays. Support your Men's Club and hone your golf skills through friendly competition.

    Rich Busby – Wednesday Play Chairman