May ERMGC Newsletter

Encinitas Ranch Men's Golf Club Newsletter

Don't forget to view and "like" our Facebook page.
ERMGC Facebook Page

Club Membership

Encinitas Ranch Men’s Club
Spring Membership Drive

The Board of the Encinitas Ranch Men’s Golf Club is pleased to announce that starting April 1st through June 30 you can join the Men’s Club for $78.00 for the rest of the 2016 season. By getting your application in early there is still time to get the required points to be able to participate in future tournaments, like the Club Championship in September.
Please take the time to think about joining and enjoy the comradeship of tournament play.

This offer is only available at the link listed below:
The Board Members of Encinitas Ranch Men's Club

Tournament News

Tournament: 2016 Poinsettia Cup, May 14-15.

Registration ends Tuesday 5/9.

Sponsored by:

FORMAT: 36 Holes of Individual stroke play.

ELIGIBILITY: Member of ERMGC and Earn at least (1) Point to Qualify for Poinsettia Cup
Here's how to earn your points:
(1) Point awarded for playing in Thursday, Saturday or Senior League Team Play
(1) Point awarded for any Monthly Tournament
(1) Point awarded for (4) Wednesday Sweeps Rounds

SKINS: $10 Entry. Skins will be based on each flight. Championship Gross Skins. A, B, C Net Skins.
Money will be collected at check in time. CASH only. To be eligible you must pay before your round starts.

To register for this tournament go to: Registration

Tournament: 2016 Senior Club Championship May 14.15

NOTE: Players who are 55 years of age or older with indexes of 10.0 or less will automatically entered in the Senior Club Championship which will be played concurrent to the Poinsettia Cup. Gross Club Champion and Net Club Champions will be determined during the fall match play championships.

FORMAT: 36 Holes of Individual stroke play. This is a gross competition from the Blue Tees for seniors (55 and older) with indexes of 10.0 or less. This tournament is conducted concurrent with the Poinsettia Cup. There is no additional entry fee for this event, and there is no additional prize fund associated with this event.

2015 Defending Champions

  • Championship Flight: Scott Stewart
  • A Flight: John Gothard III
  • B Flight: T R Raviendran
  • C Flight: Tim Hostetter

Tournament Results

Tournament: 2016 2 Man Aggregate

Sponsored by:

The Men's Club would like to thank Golf Mart and Jim and Lorie Brakas for sponsoring the 2016 2 man Aggregate Tournament.


A Flight

  1. 1st Place - Dale Clark/ John Gothard
  2. 2nd Place -Denny Aiken/Jim Brakas
  3. 3rd Place - Eric Diaz/James Heiser

B Flight

  1. 1st Place -Tony Mancuso/ Duane Spring
  2. 2nd Place - David Griggs/Kevin McGinnis
  3. 3rd Place - Jim Haile/Paul Latchford

C Flight

  1. 1st Place - Stephen Johnson/James Wagner
  2. 2nd Place - Paul Murray/Peter Sertic
  3. 3rd Place -Kemper Cagney/Dino Manoli

The Rules Column

Wrong Score on Score Card

Rule 6 – The Player deals with a wide range of player responsibilities, including: knowledge of the rules, starting times, pace of play, and scoring.

Section 6-6d. Wrong Score for Hole reads as follows:

“The competitor is responsible for the correctness of the score recorded for each hole on his score card. If he returns a score for any hole lower than actually taken, he is disqualified. If he returns a score for any hole higher than actually taken, the score as recorded stands.”

This provision is nearly as old as the game itself and is known by nearly everyone who plays competitive golf. Until 2016 a recorded score on any hole lower than actually taken could not be rectified after the score card had been turned in, and the penalty for returning a lower score was automatic disqualification.

A noteworthy change was made to this Rule beginning January 1, 2016. An EXCEPTION was added to 6-6d which reads as follows:

“If a competitor returns a score for any hole lower than actually taken due to failure to include one or more penalty strokes that, before returning his score card, he did not know he had incurred, he is not disqualified. In such circumstances, the competitor incurs the penalty prescribed by the applicable Rule and an additional penalty of two strokes for each hole at which the competitor has committed a breach of Rule 6-6d. This Exception does not apply when the applicable penalty is disqualification from the competition.”

Read the exception again—slowly this time. What it means: If, prior to the close of competition, it becomes known that a player returned a lower score for any hole because he did not realize that he had incurred penalty strokes on that hole, the mistake can be rectified and the player is not disqualified. Also, note in the last sentence of the exception that the mistake CANNOT be rectified if the penalty for the player’s actions is disqualification. Some examples follow to help explain when and how the exception might come into play.

1. Situation: Player A’s third shot on #3 comes to rest just short of the green immediately behind a ball mark on the fringe. The player wishes to putt the ball at the hole some 70 feet away, and repairs the ball mark on his line of play. He putts the ball onto the green to tap-in range, holes the ball with his next stroke, and reports “5” to his marker. At the conclusion of the round, the player and the marker sign the score card and turn it in. While having lunch with friends a half-hour later, Player A recounts his tale about the great lag putt he made on #3 to save par and how lucky he was that repair of ball marks is allowed. One of his lunch buddies told the player that repair of the ball mark on the fringe improved his line of play in violation of Rule 13-2, resulting in a penalty of two strokes. Player A reported the facts to a member of the committee who was at the scoring table waiting for other players to return their score cards. Ruling: Player A did not know until after returning his score card that he had incurred a penalty on #3. Since the competition was not closed, the committee must add two penalty strokes to his score for the hole under 13-2 and an additional two strokes for violation of 6-6d. His score for the hole is 9, but he is not disqualified.

2. Situation: Player B found a ball in light rough exactly where he expected his tee shot to be to the right of the fairway on #14. He played the ball onto the green and took two putts to complete the hole. When he lifted the ball from the hole, he realized that the ball he had played onto the green was not the ball he had played from the tee. He reported this to his fellow-competitors and all agreed that Player B had played a wrong ball. They added two stokes to his score under Rule 15-3 and recorded a “6” for the hole. At the end of the round, the score card was signed and returned. Player B waited in the clubhouse until all of the other scores had been posted and saw that he was tied for first place. As the tie-breaker was being calculated, the player commented to one of the committee members that he would have won outright if he had not played a wrong ball at #14. The committee member asked Player B if he had corrected his mistake before continuing play at #15. The player said that he was not aware that he had to correct the mistake and did not do so. Ruling: The penalty for failure to correct the play of a wrong ball before playing from the next tee is disqualification. Although the player DID NOT KNOW that he had to correct his mistake, Player B’s score could not be rectified because the exception to 6-6d DOES NOT APPLY when the penalty imposed is disqualification.

3. Situation: During the first round of a 36-hole tournament Player C’s tee ball on #12 lies through the green in an area covered with wood chips. He removes a few wood chips from behind the ball and the ball moves just slightly to the side. Player C plays the ball, taking two more strokes to reach the green and one putt to complete the hole. He reports a score of “5” to his marker, explaining that he is adding a penalty stroke to his score for the hole because his ball had moved when he was removing loose impediments near the ball. At the conclusion of the round, the score card is signed and returned. All scores for the first round had been posted and Player C was only 2 strokes behind the leader with 18 holes remaining to play the next day. Later that evening, Player C looked up Rule 23 – Loose Impediments just to be sure that he was permitted to remove the wood chips. He confirmed that the wood chips were loose impediments through the green and he could touch and move them without penalty. He followed up to determine what happens if the ball moves in the process, and learned that Rule 18 – Ball At Rest Moved requires that the ball MUST BE REPLACED. Since he made his next stroke without replacing the ball to its original position, he had incurred the “general penalty” of two strokes under 18-2. The next day he reports to a member of the committee that he had recorded a one-stroke penalty on #12 and it should have been a two-stroke penalty. Ruling: Player C knew that he had incurred a penalty on the hole, but did not know that the penalty was two strokes until after returning his score card. Since the competition was not closed, the committee must add one more penalty stroke to his score for the hole under 18-2 and an additional two strokes for violation of 6-6d. His score for the hole is 8, but he is not disqualified.

4. Situation: Player D hit his tee shot into a dry creek bed which was marked as a lateral water hazard. He determined that he could play from the area. In preparing for the stroke, he kicked away a stone in the creek bed that interfered with his stance. After playing his ball from the creek bed, a fellow-competitor told Player D that he believed that moving the stone was a violation of the rules. The player disagreed and did not include any penalty strokes in his score for the hole reported to his marker. The scorecard was signed and returned at the end of the round with no further discussion of the incident. After the players had left the scoring area but before the competition was closed, the fellow-competitor asked a committee member about the situation. Ruling: The exception to 6-6d applies only if the player is UNAWARE that he incurred penalty strokes. Since Player D had been advised by his fellow-competitor of a possible breach of the rules, and took no action to check with the committee whether he had incurred a penalty, he is DEEMED TO HAVE KNOWN that he had incurred a penalty. The score could not be rectified and the player is disqualified.

To recap… The Exception to Rule 6-6d Wrong Score for Hole (added in 2016) can, in some situations, allow a lower score than actually taken to be rectified after the score card has been returned. Several conditions must be met: a) the player DID NOT KNOW that he had incurred one or more penalty strokes; b) the competition has not been closed; and c) the applicable penalty is not disqualification.

Dick Beckman – April 2016

Wednesday Sweeps

Wednesday Play for ERMGC Members

If you want friendly golf competition and have a chance to earn gift certificates to purchase items from the Golf Shop, sign up for a tee time between 7:00 a.m. and 9:30 a.m. on Wednesdays. You may sign up as a single, with a friend, or a group of four. All sign-ups must be members of the Men’s Club. All participants pay an entry fee of $5. Each participant signs up for his appropriate flight and tee.

Every golfer can win a gift certificate redeemable at the pro shop for placing in their flight.
In addition, every player has an opportunity to win a $10 gift certificate for being closest to the hole, or having the long drive in their flight.

The following are flight parameters for tee assignments:

Flight Tees Index Score
Championship Blue Open to All Gross
A Net Blue 10.0 and lower Net
B Net Green 10.1 to 15.0 Net
C Net White 15.1 and higher Net

Visit our website for additional information on ERMGC Wednesday Play.

Hope to see you on Wednesdays. Support your Men's Club and hone your golf skills through friendly competition.

Rich Busby – Wednesday Play Chairman